Jefferson and the Planes, 10.12.15

I needed one last President to finish off the Presidential Range for October, so on Columbus Day, I got up early and headed up to hike Jefferson via the Caps Ridge Trail.  I knew I needed to get there early to get some solitude on the trail and a parking space.  I know, solitude on trails, a good forecast and Columbus Day in the Whites, usually isn’t a good mix, but getting to the trailhead early gave me a nice hike.

I wasn’t the first one on the trail, as I met one hiker coming down as I was going up, plus there were other cars in the lot, but I was by myself for the most part, seeing just a few people here and there along the way.  The sun was shining and the Caps were fun and then I was working my way up the rocks to the false summit.  It was there where I saw the first glider.  It went by overhead, almost silently.  I hiked a little further and then heard a plane.  Sure enough, it was a tow plane, towing up another glider.  The winds must have been just right that day, as I watched and counted at least ten times that the tow plane would come up and release gliders.  They were cool to watch and when they went over head, they seemed so close.

I arrived at the summit, and no one was there.  I enjoyed that for a few minutes while taking a break out of the wind and headed back down.  By this point, quite a few people were coming up the trail, and I was glad to be on my way down, having had a pretty nice morning’s hike.

 

Glider going by overhead on the way up Jefferson.

Glider going by overhead on the way up Jefferson.

View out to the Mt. Washington Hotel and Bretton Woods Ski Area.  There is a glider in the photo to the far left, near the edge.

View out to the Mt. Washington Hotel and Bretton Woods Ski Area. There is a glider in the photo to the far left, near the edge.

Tow plane and glider over part of the summit cone of Jefferson.

Tow plane and glider over part of the summit cone of Jefferson.

A last look at Mt. Washington from the Caps Ridge Trail.

A last look at Mt. Washington from the Caps Ridge Trail.

A lenticular clouds forming over the Presidentials as seen from near the pothole rocks on Caps Ridge Trail.

A lenticular clouds forming over the Presidentials as seen from near the pothole rocks on Caps Ridge Trail.

Leave a Reply

