Three Days Ago . . ., 9.13.15

I finished the AT.   Seems a bit surreal and hard to describe unless you have actually experienced it or completed some other huge goal.  It might take a while before the whole thing hits me.  I am happy to have done the whole trip, happy to be done and happy to be home.  Of course, I am a bit sad that it is over, but there are always new trails to hike in the future.

Physically, I am tired and my feet hurt.  I’m pretty sure that could be said of almost every thru-hiker.  Other than that, I am in good shape with no other injuries.  A few weeks of rest and good food (no junk!) and I’m sure I’ll be fine.

My gear has survived with minimal issues and just needs to be cleaned and put away.  That’s next week project!  

Signed ceiling tile at the Appalachian Trail Cafe in Millinocket. The trail family and spouses met for one last meal before heading home.

Leave a Reply

