Appalachian Trail, 9.10.15, Finished

It was a beautiful morning to finish the AT on Mt. Katahdin in Maine.  We had a perfect window of clear weather to enjoy the views as we ascended up the mountain in the final miles.

What a great journey this has been; it was challenging, yet rewarding in many ways.  

Thanks to God for giving us health, saftey and good weather.  I can not even begin to elaborate on these blessings and other throughout the hike in the short space here.

Special thanks to my family, especially my husband who suppported me throughout the trek and joined me for the hike up to Katahdin for the finish.  I was blessed to have the two most important men in my life, my dad and husband, with me, one at the beginning and one at the end of the hike.

Special thanks to Pacer and BigSky and their spouses.  To the guys, thanks for being such a great trail family for the whole trip.  It was nice to stay together right to the end.  To the spouses, thanks for loving them and supporting them for the months they were away.
  
 

Done!

  

At the end of the trail, BigSky, me and Pacer.

 

14 thoughts on “Appalachian Trail, 9.10.15, Finished

  1. I’ve been following your journey, and I can’t tell you how impressive and inspiring you’ve been. I don’t think I’ll ever have what it takes to do the Appalachian Trail, but you’ve shown me that whenever I think I MIGHT have what it takes, I WILL be able to do it! Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. With so much excitement and happiness for you, congratulations!!!

    You are amazing. I knew you had it in you. Your dedication and enthusiasm are truly inspiring. I wish you many years of great achievements!

    John

  3. Hi! I was several grades behind you at OCA, but upon seeing my plans for hiking the AT, Dee, my Government Economics teacher, sent me your blog link and told me of your thru-hike this past year. I enjoyed reading your journal! This year, I will hike 8 days in early April, starting at Springer Mountain. I can’t wait. My youngest child is 9, but as soon as he graduates high school, I plan to thru-hike the AT. In the meantime, I will section hike for the next 8 years…a week at a time…beginning this year, as mentioned above. Any advice you could give would be much appreciated! I regularly read thru-hiker blogs and have read Zach Davis and David Miller’s books about the trail.
    Anyhow, thanks for sharing your adventure!

    • Hi Renee! I do remember you and your brother. Congrats on your section hike! Both books you mentioned are good ones, I’ve read them, too. If you have any questions, feel free to email me: summersetbanks “at” gmail “dot” com. Good luck in April – it is a fantastic journey!

Leave a Reply

