New Snow! The Osceolas, 2.6.15

I was hoping for some company for another trip to the Osceolas, and when Schorman emailed me regarding a hike there, I was happy to accept.  The last three trips were solo, and it would be nice to have some one else along.  As usual, I had driving details to work out, but in the end it all worked out.

I switched the carpool, so after dropping off the children in Concord, I headed north, getting on trail around 9:15a.  This was behind the main group, as they wanted to start at 7:30a.  I don’t blame them, the Mt. Osceola Trail past the junction with the Greeley Pond Trail was unbroken and it would certainly take time to get up the steep sections of East Osceola.  Off I went, thankful that because of my start time, the temperature was above zero and I was on reasonably broken trail.  I made pretty good time until the steeper sections.  The snow was deeper and it looked like only my group had been through.  Once on the steeps the hiking got slower, and although I was a little slower than previous months, I wasn’t too far off what it normally took me to hike certain sections.  I knew I was going slowly, and then it just felt like I would not catch up at all.  I resigned myself to solo hiking, sure I’d see them coming down Osceola when I was going up.  Oh well, that’s how some days go!

Up and across the open slide and then up some more and then I stopped.  There was a snowshoe in a tree.  I looked at it for a moment, trying to figure out what it was doing there.  Had the group found it and left it so they could pick it up on the way back?  It was odd to only see one snowshoe.  Then I heard a voice calling down to me.  It was Wolfgang and somehow the tree had snagged his snowshoe off of his pack and he didn’t realize it because he was wearing crampons for the steep section.  He had to come back down from the ridge to find it.  Since I was closer to it, he asked me to bring it up, which I was happy to do.  We made it to the ridge and the group wasn’t too far ahead.  Boy, was I happy to see them!  It was nice to see them and have some company, so off we went across the ridge, helping to do a little trail breaking along the way, including the bypass of the chimney bypass.   The rest of the day went quickly, and the trip out was a lot of fun, with some great butt sliding down East Osceola!

Unbroken, drifted trail on the Osceola ridge.

Unbroken, drifted trail on the Osceola ridge.

Taking a break near the summit of East Osceola, before heading up to Osceola.

Taking a break near the summit of East Osceola, before heading up to Osceola.

Coming up the steep section after the chimney on Mt. Osceola.

Coming up the steep section after the chimney on Mt. Osceola.

The group, minus Schorman on Osceola.

The group, minus Schorman on Osceola.

Thanks to Schorman, HikerEd, Wolfgang and G.Jubinville for some great trail breaking and fun day!  Special thanks to Schorman for the photos; my phone does not like the really cold weather!

Leave a Reply

