Spring Escape – Zion National Park – Day 4: Emerald Pools, 4.4.14

What to do for my last morning in Zion?  I knew that it would have to be a quick hike, as the plan was to meet my husband back in Las Vegas around noon, and I had a three hour drive to get there.  One of places I hadn’t visited that was a short hike to the Emerald Pools, so my plan was to get up early, pack everything into the car and catch an early shuttle bus in the park.

Since this is an easy and popular hike, early morning was the perfect time for a little peace and quiet on this trail.  I hopped on an early shuttle bus (they start running at 7:00a), and got off at the Zion Lodge stop seeing very few people along the way, crossed the river on a bridge and was on the trail.  My first stop was the lower Emerald Pool, which was quiet and pretty.

Heading down the trail toward the Lower Emerald Pool.

Heading down the trail toward the Lower Emerald Pool, barely seen in the right of the photo.

The Lower Emerald Pool.  A little green due to the algae, and hence the name Emerald Pool.

The Lower Emerald Pool. A little green due to the algae, and hence the name Emerald Pool.

Then I hiked upward to the Middle Pool, and then a little higher up and toward the canyon wall to the Upper Pool. Along the way, I scared a mule deer who was out for an early morning nibble on the plants.  It was peaceful and quiet with no one up there, and I had seen only a couple of people, who were returning from their hike and bit of early morning quiet.  The whole trip was less than three miles, but was a perfect ending to my trip to Zion and Bryce.

At the Middle Emerald Pool, looking back across the canyon floor to the cliffs on the other side.

At the Middle Emerald Pool, looking back across the canyon floor to the cliffs on the other side.

The end of the trail at the Upper Emerald Pool, close to the canyon walls.

The end of the trail at the Upper Emerald Pool, close to the canyon walls.

I will have to say that this was a great trip!  Zion and Bryce were absolutely beautiful, with great hiking, a good change of scenery for me, and a good first experience hiking in this part of the country.  I’m already making plans for another spring escape next year if I’m given the chance!

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Escape – Zion National Park – Day 4: Emerald Pools, 4.4.14

  1. Summerset, although I’ve not commented on each of your postings about your hikes at Zion and Bryce, I’ve read and enjoyed reading each of your reports. Right down to the last minute, you certainly made the most of your time while visiting these locations. As you said, your trek to Emerald Pools was indeed a perfect ending to this multi-day adventure.

    Thank you so much for sharing this terrific experience!

    John

Leave a Reply

