Cam’s Memorable Moments of Summer 2011

With possibly his last hike for the season done, I decided to see what Cameron thought of his hikes this summer.  I provided him with a list of all the peaks he had hiked and then asked the following questions.  The answer are his, without any prompting.

Which hike was the easiest?  Tecumseh.  It was very short and fun to run down the trail on the descent.

At the summit of Tecumseh, the easiest hike he did this summer.

Which hike was the hardest?  The hike to Madison Hut on the trip to Madison and Adams.  The weather not good and the last few tenths it seemed like the hut crew kept moving the hut further away from us.

On the summit of Madison, the weather being much better than the previous afternoon.

Which hike was the scariest?  The hike up the ledges on the Ammonoosuc Ravine Trail to Lakes of the Clouds Hut in early June when the wind was blowing between 30 and 50 mph.  I was afraid the wind would blow me off.  [What he didn’t realize was that mom was inches behind him ready to grab him if anything should happen.  Which it didn’t.  The chimney on Osceola wasn’t as scary and there was a by-pass, neither was sleeping all by ourselves on the tent platforms at Kinsman Pond.]

Which hike was the happiest?  Mt. Washington.  That was a trip mom had promised me and it is the highest point in New England.

Both of us at the summit of Washington.

Which hike was the saddest?  I didn’t have any sad hikes.  [He really didn’t.  I can’t recall a hike where he cried, broke down or otherwise just didn’t want to continue and wanted to go home.  A good break and a snack fixes a lot of things, which is even true for adults!]

Which hike was the most exciting?  Carrigain, because my mom finished the NH 4,000 footer list on that hike.

Cameron watching me stand on the summit of Carrigain.

I found his answers interesting – adults and children don’t always see the same situation from the same perspective.   By hiking with my son, I’ve not only grown closer to my son, but I’ve learned to try to see things from his viewpoint.  For example, a break at a water crossing or a pool isn’t just a break, but an opportunity to try to skip stones for fun, sticks aren’t just sticks but can be anything you want, and hiking for hours on end without a break isn’t fun for anyone.  I’m hoping that next year will be an even better hiking year together, as we learn to work together to reach the peaks with many more good memories and no sad ones, just like this year.

3 thoughts on “Cam’s Memorable Moments of Summer 2011

  1. Summerset, what a marvelous idea to pose those questions to Cameron, and even more marvelous were the responses he provided! It was especially nice that he was so thoughtful to think of Carrigain as his most exciting hike since it was the one where you finished the NH 4,000 footer list. I think you’d agree that you have a pretty special son!

    John

  2. I enjoy reading all your reports. I have two budding hikers myself (10 & 11) and recently did a short hike in Western CT with them. I hope to make it to the Whites with them soon.
    Can you do a report where you share yours and Cam’s gear lists? I need to gear up the kids and figure out if I should carry more on their behalf. Thanks for the great stories.

  3. John – He is a pretty special son (he’s also my only son, but that’s beside the point!). I did question his choice of Carrigain, but he wanted to stick with that answer. I like the idea of looking back over a season and trying to pick out both the high and low points and try to identify how to make the next season (or even next hike) better.

    Rich – Thanks! That’s a good post idea – I will work on that!

Leave a Reply

